You have to get where you're going, but you've had a little too much to drink. While you want to go home quickly, it's not in your best interests to get behind the wheel. A DWI can cost you much more than a few dollars or few months of trouble in Texas.
A DWI is generally classed as a Class B misdemeanor in Texas, except in extreme cases or after multiple arrests. Although a misdemeanor isn't necessarily a serious charge, it does have serious repercussions. Here are a few penalties you could face if you're charged with a DWI.
Your first-offense DWI
A first-offense DWI is usually treated the least severely. You may face fines of up to $2,000 and could go to jail for up to 180 days. While the judge has the option to suspend your license for 90 days, it actually could end up being suspended for up to a year. Additionally, you'll face fees for three years. If you can't pay the yearly fee, which is up to $2,000, you'll lose your license.
A second-offense DWI
A second-offense DWI is more serious. You face higher fines, up to $4,000. You still face a yearly charge to maintain your license, but you could face a jail sentence between a month and a year in length.
Not all penalties are court-ordered
Of course, you have to keep in mind that not all penalties or problems result from a court-order. If you lose your license, you might be unable to keep your job or get to school. If you have a professional license, you could lose it, depending on your career choices. Your reputation takes on damage, too, which hurts you in the long term.
These are a few things to know about a Texas DWI. Avoiding these penalties helps you retain your freedoms.